Thursday, April 16, 2009

DL

DL Says:

If we get another panic sell-off in the stock market, the dollar should rally. But after that, USD is toast.

DL Says:

When Mannwich finally liquidates all his shorts, the market’s going to drop 20% in a week.

DL Says:

Leftback @ 8:08

“…if you had a complex play on - something like a bet that the SPX would be between 600 and 700, for example and then the market rallied far out of that range..”

I don’t think one could do this with options… potential for profit using a “spread” or a “butterfly” only exists for a fairly narrow trading range.

………..

However, if someone kept shorting naked calls all the way up, he’d be forced to buy them back. If a lot of people were doing that, it would increase call option premiums… that in turn might entice arbitrageurs to come in and simultaneously buy the underlying stock and short the calls against them.

In any case, I don’t really think this is driving the rally.

karen

karen Says:

thanks, andy, could not agree more… it’s more fun betting with you than against you, btw.

cjcpa

cjcpa Says:

Q: Is it courageous or silly to get short here?

A: we’ll know in six months for sure….

Andy Tabbo

Andy Tabbo Says:

Quick Note as I leave town for a few days. Last Sunday night I wrote about 870 - 906 being an important zone of resistance and that we should see that level by end of this week/early next week. Well, we’re almost there (high print is 869.17 so far). Longs should think hard about shedding some length very soon. To be honest, I’m not sure what the pattern is from the 666 lows–It’s a little confusing to me. But, what I can state is that the last few weeks are beginning to resemble a “rising wedge” formation, which is potentially very bearish. One thing is for certain, pay attention to that uptrend line. If it gets violated at all, then exit the market post-haste. When rising wedges get broken to the downside, they have a tendency of producing VIOLENT moves lower.

I can’t recommend massive short positions just yet, because I’d rather see some “peaking” action first…either an identifiable little 5 wave move down on intraday charts, or a break of that uptrend line.

MRegan

MRegan Says:

Is QID coming into buy territory?

sentiment

Mannwich Says:

Raised more cash into the close as well to load up more shorts if this nonsense continues. Liquidated some long positions that I wanted out of. Now mostly short by quite a bit and feeling like crap about, so it must be good. Now off for my first road bike ride of the season! 73 and gorgeous here in the hinterlands…..

Mannwich Says:

Bingo. GOOG = buy the rumor, sell the news. This next leg down is going to be even more entertaining to watch the pundits look like fools AGAIN.


Mannwich Says:

@Mike in Nola: I would argue that this confidence game isn’t designed to replace jobs. It’s designed to pump up profits for the lucky insiders who are in the know so they can be made whole while they kick the can down the road. And then we’ll hear how we’re right on the cusp of turning the corner time and time again and “things aren’t really that bad” in comparison to other times (which is somewhat true) but tell that to the unemployed, levered up, and with no prospects on the horizon outside of a job at MCD. Collateral damage.


Mannwich Says:

On another note, this would obviously be bad for the O administration if there’s anything to this…..is there anyone in positions of power with clean hands? I think not. I honestly think there would be endless perp walks if they truly started peeling the onion. That’s why it’s not going to happen.

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB123992516941227309.html#mod=djemalertNEWS

sentiment

Mannwich Says:

Wow, look at the steady march upwards today. It seems the all-clear has been given to Joe/Jane Retail to either get back in or stay in because all is well again. Slow and steady over the past hour or so. Final hour should be interesting? Panic buying, anyone?

Mannwich Says:

Yes, it is. I’m speechless but will raise cash and patiently wait out this charade. I’d be far less irritated by this if things WERE actually improving, but I just don’t see it. This is pump & dump 101, with a major assist from the feds. Question is - when does the pump cease and the dump begin?


DL
Says:

When Mannwich finally liquidates all his shorts, the market’s going to drop 20% in a week.

Mannwich Says:

@DL: Not liquidating. Hanging in there like Steve Barry. We are not out of the woods yet.


Mannwich Says:

Picked up some SDS.

sentiment

dead hobo Says:

The chart is excellent circumstantial evidence that textbook monetary theory is basically crap. Sentiment powers everything. Even the value of a dollar in a growing ocean of dollars.

Sentiment is powering oil at $50, rather than the much lower price it should be at right now. Copper is being powered by dreams of Chinese hoards mobbing the Chinese economy. Sentiment makes the concept of things getting worse at a slower rate sound like found leprechaun gold. Sentiment makes missing month horrible losses easy to ignore. Sentiment makes banks that got free government money look like cash cows instead of welfare queens that earned a few bucks interest on the free money.

Senntiment is powering the toppiness of the market indexes at this time. People would rather chase dreams than think realistically.

Who is buying right now? Even the average CNBC guest this morning pondered about the coming correction (I started turning it on a couple of hours a week). The employees were mostly rosy. I can’t imagine Joe Retail is back.


dead hobo Says:

S&P +15??? Oh well, been there, done that before. Not again. Must be some kind of short squeeze.


dead hobo Says:

C wouldn’t have foreshadowed good news if it didn’t have something up it’s sleeve, reminiscent of the GS missing month or Wells Fargo accounting tricks. The smart money scurrying to .01 money tells the story.

It’s gratifying to see the upside pressure. The real upturn will happen when anecdotal stories of easy bank credit flow from small and medium business. I haven’t heard any yet. Right now, big banks are too busy making money on trading, accounting gimmicks, and not lending. This adds nothing to the economy.




sentiment

call me ahab Says:

AmenRa Says:

“Google just beat estimates. That should take us through the 875 resistance of the S&P tomorrow. The fuse has been lit.”

the expectation was already there- the market was buying the rumor- my guess is they will be selling the news tomorrow-

leftback has a point on a potential large exit- may happen tomorrow


call me ahab Says:

Thanks leftback . . . I am offically a mental midget . . . since I don’t even know what you just said.

sentiment

Steve Barry Says:

I posted earlier about the problem GOOG would have due to the stronger dollar…ignoring the usual CNBC hype, it apparently happened, as GOOG revenue fell sequentially for the first time in its history. Y/Y, revenue was up a mere 6%. That should warrant no more than a 15 forward P/E on operating earnings…if they make $22 this year, its very fully priced at 350 or so.

Steve Barry Says:

@ahab:

I’m guilty as well…my post above was way too generous…I forgot that that GOOG does not include options expense in their “operating” earnings. I’m too lazy to do all the work, but I know they cash out like mad there…she is probably not even worth close to 350.


leftback Says:

An IPO up 44%? A blow-off rally? What is this, 1999? Where’s Henry Blodget?
Irrational exuberance, my friends…..

There must be an explanation for the rally in the IYR. Short covering would be the most obvious.
Maybe some hedgies are getting cleaned out.

leftback Says:

USD could go to 88 and make a H&S before it falls apart.
Or the pain trade = stay in its channel and make a new high at 92. Ouch.

leftback Says:

Selling more longs. Thank you, Johnny Retail. Up 150% on GMO, 50% on AA. :-)


Can’t help feeling that today’s buyers could have a nasty little rash by Monday’s close.


leftback Says:

Andy, great commentary.
Check this out. The big boys are buying zeros again. It pays to watch all markets. (1 month t-bill 0.08->0.01)

http://zerohedge.blogspot.com/2009/04/one-month-t-bill-at-001.html

We had also noticed the smart money apparently leaving the building this week and have followed.
Something evil this way comes. Sell ‘em.

leftback Says:

Added to modest shorts. There really can’t be much left in this thing, and GE and C are not going to save it.
Today feels like the inverse of March 6. Shorts capitulating everywhere, except Mannwich and Stevo.

Did a lot of liquidating of longs today, taking profits never hurts.


leftback Says:

http://www.calculatedriskblog.com/2009/04/regulators-give-bankunited-20-days-to.html


bankunited (biggest FL bank) receives final notice from FDIC

This one would be quite big for the FDIC to take down. Of course, C would be bigger….


leftback Says:

@Transor Z: Luckily the economy is in recovery, the US consumer is coming back, and all the option ARMs and prime jumbos will turn out to be money good.

(we also have a bridge we would like to sell you…)

Let’s see if C brings out Pandit in a dress tomorrow and calls him “Miss Financial One Stop Supermarket”. Between Pandit and Immelt we are going to see two Masters of Weaselry at work in the morning. (C and GE earning)

Looking at the money scurrying into the short end of the curve this week (yield of 3 month t-bill drop from 0.08 to 0.01), makes me think that something is up. I saw this happen in October and again in January before the selling started. An Indy Mac sized bank failure might make the market sit up and take notice.

leftback Says:

I think a lot of today’s exuberance was about options expiration tomorrow. The day before expiration is often the most interesting day of the week. All bets are off on Monday, or at least this month’s bets are off.

leftback Says:

Help me out here. I had some more thoughts on today’s -and this week’s - trading. What if some hedgie or other large trader had put on a huge option play some time ago? One that looked really good when SPX was 666.79 and was looking like it would be ITM, but then started to degrade rapidly as the market rallied upward in March?

They might have had to desperately buy the SPOOS in an attempt to mitigate enormous losses? I am not an options guy but I have heard about similar idiocy. It’s even better when it is a prop trading desk or IB rogue trader.


leftback Says:

Another technical trader who thinks this rally is about done:
http://online.barrons.com/article/SB123974805332418441.html

ahab: Well, if you had a complex play on - something like a bet that the SPX would be between 600 and 700, for example and then the market rallied far out of that range. Someone else should explain this, like Hoffer.




Today, I start

Document my trading idea and others